Friday, August 26, 2011

New Zealand Infomation

New Zealand is a main country in the South Pacific Ocean. It has 3 main Islands which are North Island, South Island and Stewart Island. The Maori name of New Zealand is Aotearoa which translates to The Land of the Long White Cloud. The cities with the largest population in New Zealand are, Auckland (1,354,900 residents), Wellington (473, 700 residents) and Christchurch (376, 300). There are three official languages which are English, Te Reo Maori and New Zealand sign Languages.

The first European to make it with his crew to New Zealand was Captain James Cook. He was born in Britain. First James Cook Circumnavigated New Zealand. After Cook finished his journey he wanted to call it New Zealand and make it his. Suddenly there were Maori’s and they thought they were the first to make it to New Zealand. This was a bad situation so it turned out to be a war. In 1840 6th February there was a treaty held between the British and the Maori to settle the war.

You are so Welcome to visit us here at Point England School. Also come and see us to watch the Rugby World Cup!

No comments: